National Sun Yat-sen University Regulations for Tenure Track Faculty by the Department of Marine Biotechnology and Resources

Approved by the Department Affairs Council meeting, December 14, 2000

- Article 1 The Regulations were defined in accordance with Article 6 of the

 University's Faculty and Researcher Employment Regulations and "National
 Sun Yat-sen Regulations for Tenure Track time Faculty".
- Article 2 Where the faculty member of any level does not fall under Article 2 of the "Regulations for Rejection of Reappointment for Teaching Faculty of National Sun Yat-Sen University" and has passed evaluation by the faculty evaluation committees of every level, they should be offered tenure; the tenure may be for 10 years, 15 years, 20 years or permanent (until legal retirement age).
- Article 3 Faculty members offered tenure are exempt from evaluations for the duration.
- Article 4 Tenure track faculty members must still satisfy their basic teaching obligations during their tenure or their length of tenure may be decreased or revoked by the faculty evaluation committee at each level.
- Article 5 Tenure track faculty members who fall under Article 2 of the "Regulations for Rejection of Reappointment for Teaching Faculty of National Sun Yat-sen University" during their tenure may have the University's faculty evaluation committee vote to revoke their tenure.
- Article 6 Newly appointed lecturers, assistant professors and appropriate professors as defined under Article 3 of the "Regulations for Rejection of Reappointment for Teaching Faculty of National Sun Yat-Sen University" (approved at the 1st extraordinary meeting of the University Council in academic year 1999, December 3, 1999) are not eligible for tenure under the Regulations until they have been promoted.
- Article 7 The Regulations were approved by the department affairs council prior to implementation. Modifications shall follow the same procedure.

Article 8 The detailed rules of the Regulations shall be defined elsewhere by the faculty evaluation committee of the Department.